Recommendations

Halloween Movie Marathon Watchlist

If you, like me, intend to stay at home on Halloween and marathon not-so-scary Halloween movies then you’ve come to the right place. I’ve compiled my favorite Halloween movies (that won’t disrupt your sleep schedule) so pull on your PJ’s, pop your popcorn, gather your candy corn, and settle down to watch as many movies as possible in one night. Or if you want to watch these in the days leading up to Halloween– I’ve posted this early for you.

Coraline

Coraline is one of my favorite movies of all time, so it’s a no-brainer for this list. There’s nothing scary about this movie, but I get nervous for Coraline every time– the beautiful animation is so worth it. (I recommend the book too.)

Saw I

This movie isn’t at all kid friendly, but it is the perfect mix of horror, thrill, and excitement. This is the first in a series of movies, and if there’s one worth watching, it’s this one.

Beetlejuice

While I don’t recommend saying his name three times, this is an entertaining watch.

Little Shop of Horrors

The movie’s a little out there and kinda silly, but I’ve got a soft spot for musicals so here it is.

Halloween Town

With cute characters and a good storyline, this movie has been one of my favorites all my life.

The Nightmare Before Christmas

Although it says Christmas in the title, this movie is about Pumpkin King Jack Skellington. Tim Burton has made many great movies yet this remains one of the best in my eyes.

Monster House

A fun watch from 2006, focusing on three kids who discover that their neighbor’s house is alive and strive to destroy it before it preys on trick or treaters.

Winnie the Pooh- Boo to You!

This one’s a Halloween television special based on Disney’s series The New Adventures of Winnie the Pooh. Piglet’s fear of Halloween leads to many misadventures that make for a very cute movie.

It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown

So this isn’t really a movie, but really, what’s a holiday without a Charlie Brown holiday special being involved?

The Corpse Bride

Another Tim Burton movie! This one’s about a young man set for an arranged marriage who ends up married to a corpse. Mixed feelings about the ending.

Frankenweenie

A fun take on Frankenstein… Victor Frankenstein’s a bit of a loner who makes do with a dog that he loves. When the dog dies, Victor finds a way to bring him back to life with unforeseen consequences.

Hotel Transylvania

I’ve heard that a lot of people liked this movie so I guess I’ll see for myself. I’ve never actually seen the movie but we’ll see if it lives up to it’s hype.

Monsters Inc.

I can’t resist putting this one here since it’s such a good movie. James Sullivan and his bestie- Mike Wazowski-  are part of the monster world, Boo is part of the human world. Worlds collide. I will admit that Randal “Randy” Boggs still gives me the creeps.

That’s it! These are the 13 (I know, so cheesy) movies I’ll be attempting to fit into one day. I’m so ready for a great Halloween movie marathon on October 31.

1 thought on “Halloween Movie Marathon Watchlist”

Leave a Reply

