Misc, Uncategorized

Summer Reading

I can’t remember a time when I didn’t love reading. These days, a day doesn’t go by where I haven’t dedicated a few hours (if not half the day) to reading. However, this summer, like most summers, teachers assigned all sorts of reading assignments or online courses to get us ready for the upcoming school year.

Most assigned reading, let’s be honest, isn’t what you would call enjoyable. That’s why I took it upon myself to make time for some recreational reading to enjoy that something special about curling up on the sofa with a cup of tea (or coffee, depending on the day), picking up a book, and immersing myself in a reality other than my own.

The first book I read this summer was Hannah Hart’s My Drunk Kitchen: A Guide to Eating, Drinking, and Going with Your Gut. I started watching Hannah on YouTube a couple of years ago and when she put out a book, I immediately wanted to buy it. Instead, an old friend gifted me the book. Being a fangirl was the only reason I wanted it but I definitely ended up enjoying it.

The Help was given to me the summer before I entered high school. I spent that summer reading and re-reading the book, especially when I couldn’t sleep and this year was no different. Whether it was two p.m. and the sun was lighting the pages or it was two a.m. and I was reading by phonelight, I was enjoying this book for nth time.

Coraline holds a special place in my heart. I hadn’t realized there was a book until I had watched the movie like nine times but when I found out I immediately ordered it from Amazon. If I thought the movie was worth repeating, the book was worth reading twice and I’m tempted to pick it up again sometime soon.

As summer comes to an end, and the first day of school looms over my head, I am saddened that so much of my day won’t be available for me to escape into the different worlds each book offers but I’m glad I got to spend time with these awesome reads and I’ll always find the time between classes and on bus rides to read another page of another book.

 

 

Leave a Reply

